Where are all the Angels?

Where are all the angels?
As a child I learned of Angels, but never really saw one
I wondered if I ever would, for Angels must be fun
I grew up, and lived my life, wondering ‘bout them still
And then one day I felt a call, to do our Fathers Will
Now surely on a mission trip some Angels would appear
I looked up in the sky each day to see if some were near
But to my disappointment, all I saw up there was sun
So I went about my business, so much work was to be done
We shoveled sand and gravel, and we hung some water pipe
No one complained of anything, not a single little gripe
We brought some clothes and medicine, to people with great need
We healed their wounds and gave them hope as we put aside our greed
We worked together as a team, with a never-ending task
The poverty and pain we saw, we’ll surely never mask
As we traveled home one day, on our beat up old school bus
I finally saw the Angels…. In the face of each of us
Angels do not float on clouds, or fly across the skies
They ride on beat-up buses with sore backs and tear-filled eyes.
Angels have not wings of gold, or halo’s on their heads
Just hammers, drills, and screwdrivers, and duffle bags of meds
So as you look for Angels, and wonder where they are
Go take a ride… and help someone, the Angels ‘ in your car
Now if you seem to have some doubt that Angels could be real
Look in the rear view mirror cause the Angels at the wheel
Angels are not separate, or apart from you and me
They are the GRACE of GOD inside that we need to set free
For when you make a choice that you will do our Fathers Will
The Angel that’s inside will make you better even still
If you’re ever at wits end, with troubles of your own
Remember Angel’s work in teams; you’ll never be alone
Inspired by. Good Samaritan Mission Hospital,
Construction and Med team mission work.
La Romana, Republica Dominica
March 2001
John T. Rodgers
The Con

Leave a comment