I Ride For Me

I Ride For Me!

John Rodgers CT.

I ride for no one else but me, seems selfish of a thing to see

For all of life is, played together making struggles light as feather

So how then do I justify, this selfish trait that I do try

I am responsible it’s true, so many count on what I do

I toil and labor, care and worry, wife & kids and friends all hurry

I provide the sense of peace, the wheels of life are mine to grease

All those around me have no cares, as I am watching all that’s theirs

But there comes that certain time of day, when I just have to get away

The pavement calls my name out loud, I mount my iron horse so proud

With wind, and road and flying hair, I take off heading anywhere

The destination is of no mind, so long as I hear engine wind

The twisting throttle, roaring pipes, make me forget the little gripes

The road and I are one at last, there is no future, and no past

Only now, and only here, the road has nothing I need fear

My spirit soars and wanders free, this is how life’s meant to be

I steal the time to ride alone, I steal the chance that few have known,

I ride to keep my sanity; I ride for them, but mostly ME!

For riding always keeps me free!!

Leave a comment